Welcome to Jiangsu Xiandai Lighting Group Co.,Ltd.
CHINESE   |   ENGLISH
展开

Industry information

Current location:Home > NEWS > Industry information >

More reliable and efficient method for thermal analysis of LED

时间:2017-04-06 10:42:17    来源:

PHILPS (Philips LumiLEDs) of the lumens expert Dr. Mihir Kruger published an article about the calculation method of effective heat LED article recently described in detail about the process can increase the accuracy of thermal analysis of white LED and its simplified analysis. The following is the full text of Dr. Mihir Kruger's article.
Today, the thermal analysis of white LED is still an unfinished science. Most of the LED lamps and lighting device manufacturers can only rely on incomplete and inaccurate or vague data to determine the performance of the LED equipment in the relevant application, it may often lead to the excessive heat sink design engineering.
At present, the power conversion efficiency (WPE) method is usually used to calculate the power required for converting LED to light radiation, and the actual heat generated by LED. The WPE's flaw is that the results from each of the LED devices in the same product range vary widely, making it difficult for lamps and lighting manufacturers to compare LED products. Moreover, WPE is often associated with the operating environment. We will introduce a simple and straightforward method for calculating LED calorific value based on radiation luminous efficiency (LER). The most advanced and fluorescent conversion white LED LER generally remain constant, so the illuminator designer can use this formula to quickly estimate the heat generated by the LED device.
LED and heat dissipation
In thermal simulation experiments, the LED is sometimes modeled as a simple resistive heater, and all electrical power to enter the LED is assumed to translate into heat and, in turn, diverge from the illuminator. But this hypothesis has a problem, that is too conservative: high brightness fluorescence conversion white LED generally will 30% of the incoming electric power into light, and the blue LED conversion power can greatly exceed 50%. As a result, the total power required for high brightness LED heating is usually less than the total power delivered to the LED.
If this reduced heating capacity is improperly incorporated into the thermal simulation, the desired internal temperature of the luminaire will be too high, and a more complex and cost - effective design of the heat sink will be required. This is especially important for applications that require the divergence of specific heat (5W-10W) from small PCB plates and heat sinks, such as a modified LED bulb. To evaluate the total thermal performance of a luminaire or luminaire, the designer must consider reasonably the ratio of incoming power to light and heat.
Today, the WPE method commonly used in the LED industry is defined as the ratio of the total LED radiation power to the incoming LED total power. Since the WPE depends on the nominal flux and voltage of the LED and is a strong function of the actual drive current and the connection temperature, the results are different between the different LED devices in the same product category. Thus, for a particular LED product category, it is difficult to define a typical WPE value for different drive conditions, flux, and voltage BIN combinations.
Luminous efficiency
In contrast, the use of radiance efficiency (LER) is more convincing than WPE in thermal evaluation of LED applications, where the former can quantify the visible light luminous efficiency of light sources. More specifically, the LER is defined as the total adaptive flux of light source (Liu Ming) divided by its total radiant power (Watt). The LED value of LER can be directly from the radiation spectral power distribution (usually printed on the device data sheet) acquisition, and unlike WPE, the LER value is not due to the nominal flux and voltage or the actual driving current and connected temperature changes. Given the value of LER, the total calorific value of LED can be calculated by the following formula:
PHILPS Lumileds: a more reliable and efficient method for thermal analysis and calculation of LED
Wherein, the diamond symbol represents the LER value, the If represents the drive current, and the Vf represents the forward pressure under operation conditions, and the phi V represents the total luminous flux under the operating conditions. For example, for a typical LER value for 300lm/Wrad phosphor converted white LED, assuming that the driving current is 1000mA, luminous flux of 300lm positive pressure is 2.9V, then according to the above formula can calculate the total calorific value is 1.9W.
The progress made in the current fluorescent white LED production process makes it possible to control the precise color point of the same product category LED, so the LER values are consistent. In fact, for example, PHILPS Lumileds (Philips) and other manufacturers launched the latest lighting level LED (3 steps MacAdam ellipse) has achieved excellent color control. This allows the manufacturer to define a typical LER value for all LED of a particular CCT that represents the same product category.
PHILPS has now started using the LER value in the LED system, which makes the calculator design business LED system can be a tool to find the key performance indicators for the final lighting applications, including heat and light emission system. As a result, PHILPS can help designers more easily design lamps and lighting that meet the expected requirements and lower costs associated with heat sinks. In addition, the use of LER values makes it easier to compare the same classes of LED in different manufacturers, improving transparency and simplifying the LED specification process.


上一篇:The key to rotating outdoor LED display design

下一篇:Twelve steps of making LED chip"
Alibaba
ABOUT US    |    PRODUCTS    |    NEWS    |    CASES    |    HONOR    |    FEEDBACK    |    CONTACT
Add:Send the town, Yang Ling Road, modern industrial park     
Tel: 400-004-1818    Phone:13511731466
Foreign trade telephone:18552552960 
Fax:0514-87237646     
Web:http://www.yz-xd.com/en       苏ICP备17022410号      Powered by:yzxunda.cn

欢迎访问江苏现代照明集团有限公司官方网站!
中文版   |   ENGLISH
展开

行业资讯

当前位置:首页 > 新闻中心 > 行业资讯 >

更可靠、高效的LED热分析计算方法

时间:2017-04-06 10:42:17    来源:

  飞利浦流明(Philips LumiLEDs)的专家米希尔克鲁格博士最近发表了一篇关于准确有效的LED热量计算方法的文章,文中详细说明了关于可增加白色LED热分析的精确度及其简化分析的过程。下文是米希尔克鲁格博士发表文章的全文。

  时至今日,白色LED的热分析仍旧是一门未完成的科学。大多数LED灯具和照明器制造商只能依赖于不充分、不准确或模糊的数据来确定LED设备在相关应用领域的性能,这往往可能导致其散热片设计过度工程化。

  目前业内通常使用功率转换效率(WPE)方法来计算LED转换为光辐射所需的功率,以及LED实际所产生的热量。WPE的缺陷在于,同一产品类别中各个LED设备之间得出的结果差异甚大,使得灯具和照明器制造商很难对LED产品进行比较。而且,WPE通常也与操作环境有很大关系。我们将介绍一种简单明了、基于辐射发光效率(LER)的LED发热量计算方法。最先进、荧光转换型白色LED的LER一般都保持恒定,因此照明器设计商可利用此公式来快速估计LED设备所产生的热量。

  LED与散热

  在热模拟实验中,LED有时会被模拟成简单的电阻式加热器,所有将进入LED的电功率假定会转换成热量并反过来从照明器发散出去。但这一假设存在一个问题,那就是太过保守:高亮度荧光转换型白色LED一般会将30%的传入电功率转换为光,而宝蓝色LED的转换功率可大大超过50%。因此,高亮度LED发热所需的总功率通常低于进入LED的总电功率。

 若这一降低的发热容量被不适当地纳入热模拟中,预期的照明器内部温度将过高,因而将需要采用更复杂、成本更高的散热片设计。这对于那些需要从小型PCB板和散热片发散特定热量(5W-10W)的应用尤其重要,例如改造型的LED灯泡。要评估灯具或照明器的累计热性能,设计商必须合理考虑传入电功率将分别转换为光和热的比例有多少。

  如今LED行业常用的WPE方法被定义为LED总辐射功率与传入LED总电功率的比率。由于WPE取决于LED的标称通量和电压,且是实际驱动电流及连接温度的强函数,因此在同一个产品类别的不同LED设备之间得出结果差异较大。因而对于特定的LED产品类别而言,很难针对不同的驱动器条件、通量和电压BIN组合定义一个典型的WPE值。

  辐射发光效率

  对比之下,进行LED应用的热评估时使用辐射发光效率(LER)比WPE更具信服力,前者可以量化光源的可见光发光效率。更具体地讲,LER被定义为光源的总适应光通量(流明)除以其总辐射功率(瓦特)。LED的LER值可以直接从辐射光谱功率分布(通常印于设备的数据表上)获取,且与WPE不同的是,LER值不因标称通量和电压或实际驱动电流和连接温度而产生明显变化。已知LER值的情况下,就可以通过以下公式计算出LED的总发热量:

飞利浦Lumileds:更可靠、高效的LED热分析计算方法

  其中,菱形符号表示LER值,If表示驱动电流,Vf表示操作条件下的正向压,Φv表示操作条件下的总发光通量。例如,对于一个典型LER值为300lm/Wrad的荧光转换型白色LED,假设其驱动电流为1000mA,发光通量为300lm,正向压为2.9V,那么根据上文公式就可以算出其总发热量为1.9W。

  当前荧光转换型白色LED生产工艺所取得的进步使同一产品类别LED的精确色点控制成为可能,因此LER值更为一致。事实上,例如飞利浦流明(Philips Lumileds)等制造商推出的最新照明级LED(3阶MacAdam椭圆)已可实现极佳的颜色控制。这允许制造商定义一个针对特定CCT、可代表同一产品类别所有LED的典型LER值。

  飞利浦现在已经开始在“LED系统计算器”中使用LER值,这样使得LED系统设计商可以通过这一工具找到用于其最终照明应用的关键性能指标,包括系统发热量及发光量。这样一来,飞利浦就可以帮助设计商更轻松地设计出满足预期要求、散热片相关成本更低的灯具和照明器。此外,利用LER值可以更容易对不同制造商的同一类别LED进行比较,提高了透明度并简化了LED规范流程。


上一篇:旋转户外LED显示屏设计的关键

下一篇:LED芯片的制作工艺“十二步”
百度         |         阿里巴巴
关于我们    |    产品展示    |    新闻资讯    |    工程案例    |    荣誉资质    |    在线留言    |    联系我们
地址:中国.扬州市文昌西路305号金都汇商务楼8楼     
联系电话: 400-004-1818    手机号:13511731466
外贸电话:18552552960 
传真:0514-87237646     
网址:http://www.yz-xd.com       苏ICP备17022410号      技术支持:迅达科技